April 30th: Pathways

Okay I’ve danced around this long enough. I’m starting to really look into pathfinding for 2d platformers stuff now. I had originally intended to kind of half-ass it, just improvise and see where it took me, but I think I’ll save myself time and energy and maybe even learn more if I start with some online pathfinding code a build a tool out of it for future reusability. This is kind of new territory for me, but the advantage is of course that once it’s done I can use it for a whole bunch of stuff.

So, I made a class for building navigation maps out of a start position and a goal within a level, the main thing that’s missing right now being just the logic for actually building the navigation. That stuff should mostly get added in tomorrow: I’m hoping to have it pretty much useable by then, and then integrate it into this enemy behavior shortly thereafter.

About problemmachine

What is the nature of your problem? Can we modify the nature of your problem? Can your problem be touched? Eaten? May we eat your problem for you? May we eat your soul for you? Would you like a replacement problem? We make problems. We eat souls. We crap solutions. We are Problem Machine.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

